The Gladiator’s Downfall by Kristen Banet – A Book Review

Posted July 10, 2019 by Booksandblurbs in Epic, Fantasy, Reverse Harem, Reviews / 0 Comments

The Gladiator's Downfall by Kristen Banet - A Book Review #BookReview #RH #Whychoose #EpicFantasy #Fantasy #Epic #5Stars #KindleUnlimited #Amazing

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The Gladiator’s Downfall

(Age of The Andinna – Book 1)

by Kristen Banet
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Slow Burn, Epic Fantasy RH

Available on Kindle and Kindle Unlimited

Down and Dirty

Get this book… seriously. This is a sweeping saga that captures the imagination and sets the stage for an Epic worthy of many rereads.

What is it about?

(Blurb from GoodReads)

Mave knows where she stands in life. 

She’s an Andinna. A member of the winged, horned, and tailed warrior race that the Elvasi Empire defeated in the Hundred Year War and then enslaved. She’s a slave, and has been one for a thousand years, the personal property of the Empress of the Elvasi Empire, since the end of the War. She’s a gladiator, thrown onto the sands of the Colosseum to die, though it backfired on those who wanted her dead. She’s the Champion of the Colosseum, and has been for roughly nine hundred years.

All of these things have marked her as an outcast among her own people. Hated, distrusted, and despised, she knows the name of her people, but not much else.

But she knows where she stands. Keeping her head down and her blades sharp has carried her this far, and she refuses to acknowledge the deepest wishes she holds in her heart. Those will only get her killed.

Alone, she’s stood against everything they have ever thrown at her, refusing to give them what they want.

What Mave doesn’t know is that it’s all about to change. 

The Gladiator’s Downfall is a 129,000+, full-length novel.
Age of the Andinna is a reverse harem epic fantasy series. The female lead will collect her lovers as the series progresses.
There is triggering content in this series including but not limited to: abuse, violence, mature language, and sexual content. It’s recommended for mature audiences.

Thoughts on The Gladiator’s Downfall

I had this sitting in my TBR pile for quite some time, putting off reading it because I just knew what would happen from that blurb – complete and utter immersion.

This truly is the start of an epic fantasy, one that is sweeping through empires and people, introducing new species and offering up a heroine that has seen… and survived… the worst this world has to offer. Long, lush and vivid, this introduction blows open the doors to this strange story, inviting fans of fantasy and paranormal alike.

If you enjoyed the Rise of the Iliri, or the full fledged feeling of Robert Jordan, then you’ll love this.

Pros:

  • Sweeping and dynamic.
  • You HAVE to pay attention.
  • World building is phenomenal.
  • Characters are complex already, even in book 1.
  • VERY well written.

Cons:

  • This is NOT a quick or feel good read. If you want that, look elsewhere.
  • Only 2 books out so far, with 7 planned I believe.

Perspective

Third Person, Multiple POV

Ending Type

Cliffhanger, Episodic

Rating

R to NC-17. Please see Authors caution above.

Romantic Dynamic

For this book? M/F. Ultimately? I have no idea. RH though.

Verdict

FANTASTIC start to an Epic series! Perfect for fans of Auryn Hadley and R.A. Steffan. Sweeping, complex and vividly wrought, this fantasy RH hits all the right notes – and is free on Kindle Unlimited.

Published December 14th, 2018

432 Pages

If you enjoyed this review of The Gladiator’s Downfall, please consider checking out a few of my other articles.

Divider

Your Turn

What are you reading today? Have you read this book yet? What are your thoughts? Leave a message, I would love to talk!

 

Divider

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply