Tattoos and Cupcakes by Everly Taylor – A Book Review

Posted May 19, 2019 by Booksandblurbs in PNR, Reverse Harem, Reviews / 1 Comment

Tattoos and Cupcakes by Everly Taylor - A Book Review #FastBurn #WhyChoose #RH #ReverseHarem #Vampires #Book1 #PNR #Paranormal #NewRelease

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Tattoos and Cupcakes

(Amulet of Queens – Book 1)

by Everly Taylor
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fast Burn Paranormal RH

Available on Kindle and Kindle Unlimited

Down and Dirty

If you like Fast Burn Vampire romances, then this KU novel is for you. If you like a bit more story and emotional buildup, look elsewhere.

What is it about?

(Blurb from GoodReads)

WHEN THE PRICE IS ASKED, WHAT IS TOO HIGH? 

Little did I know my life would change the day that boner stared me in the face. Of course, with my amazing social skills I had ruined that one, and thankfully would never have to see him or his friend again.
My life didn’t work that way though, and I had to face my embarrassment when they came hurdling back, full force.
I wasn’t just an orphan like I had always thought I was, I was so much more. And the necklace I carried with me since the orphanage was some highly sought after voodoo shit.
To top it off the men I had the hots for were vampires, and not the Count Dracula kind either. They were the sexy stripper kind that made me want to climb their poles.
Now I had to figure out where I fit into everything, and if risking my heart and my life was worth it. If I was willing to pay the price that this amulet asked of me to save vampire kind.

Warning: Tattoos and Cupcakes is a fast paced, WhyChoose romance. Intended for readers 18+.
Sexy times await in these pages and is not for the faint of heart.

Thoughts

This was an ok vampire romance with a solid concept, but it lacked a certain oomph to make it shine.

It started with a bang (literally) and hooked me at chapter 1… then lost me around 31%. I kept going, just to see what would happen, but the character swerve for the FMC was a little much and the emotional build up to a relationship was non-existent, though the words and actions were there. I didn’t FEEL it (and yes, even in a vamp romance, some connections should feel real).

Perspective

First Person, Multiple POV

Ending Type

Cliffhanger

Rating

NC-17 (3 vampires, one potential Queen)

Pros:

  • Started great!
  • Love the best friend.
  • Amulet concept it fresh.
  • Some facets were very creative.

Cons:

  • Emotionally rushed and unfulfilling.
  • FMC changed midway.
  • Fast burn is more than fine with me… but this felt misplaced in setting and time. A bit more contact and connection and it would have served great later in the book.

 

Favorite Lines

I swear she must shit sunshine and rainbows. (3%)
I didn’t understand what the big deal was with birthdays, it’s not like you miraculously changed overnight now that you were precisely a year older. (4%)

 

Verdict

This was an average book with some good ideas. Perfect for fans of Fast Burn RH novels or those seeking a bit more bite to their vampire romances.

Published April 16th, 2019

391 Pages

Please note, this is a Reverse Harem Novel which features intense sexual themes and scenes meant for an older audience. 18+

If you enjoyed this Book Review, please consider checking out a few of my other articles.

Divider

Your Turn

What are you reading today? Found any great recommendations for me? Leave a comment, let me now – I would love to hear from you!

 

Divider

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Tattoos and Cupcakes by Everly Taylor – A Book Review

Leave a Reply