Of Wolves and Witches by Elena Lawson – A Book Review

Posted February 26, 2019 by Booksandblurbs in PNR, Reverse Harem, Reviews / 0 Comments

Of Wolves and Witches *Arcane Academy -Book 1* by Elena Lawson - A Book Review #BookReview #SlowBurn #RH #WhyChoose #Wolves #Witches #Shifters #Academy

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Of Wolves and Witches

(Arcane Arts Academy Book 1)

by Elena Lawson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Slow Burn, Paranormal RH

Available on Kindle and Kindle Unlimited

Down and Dirty

A decent Academy Series – look it up!

What is it about? (Blurb pulled from GoodReads)

I messed up. I broke two of the Arcane Council’s laws in one day. I swear it was an accident—but try telling that to the Arcane authorities.

Before I could catch my breath, my simple gypsy life of peddling potions with my guardians is wrenched away. I’m forcibly enrolled into the prestigious and supremely snotty Arcane Arts Academy, given shackles under the guise of mercy for my crimes.

As if that weren’t enough, my volatile magic bound me to two infuriatingly overbearing shifters in the woods near campus, making me an instant pariah.

At least the history teacher is helpful—not to mention insanely gorgeous. And besides giving me a dangerous distraction, there’s something else he can provide—a way to finally find out more about my father and unravel the dark mystery surrounding his death… but some secrets have claws, and if I’m not careful, knowing the truth could get me killed.

Follow Harper Hawkins as she unravels more than she bargained for in OF WOLVES AND WITCHES, the first book in the Arcane Arts Academy series, an exciting new slow-burn reverse harem paranormal romance perfect for fans of The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina and Vampire Academy!

Thoughts

I bought this book on preorder based on the blurb alone. Fortunately, the narrative lived up to the promise, weaving a new world with familiar characters and fresh mythos.

Harper is a relatable character doing the best she can within the confines of her circumstances. She had heard of the Arcane Academy before, no witch or magic being worth their salt could not have –  but she never thought she would be blessed, or cursed, enough to attend. It is a dream come true, or the beginning of her worst nightmare.

Perspective

First Person

Ending Type

Cliffhanger

Steam Level

Slow burn, little warm

Pros:

  • Harper’s growth is apparent from beginning to end.
  • Great world building.
  • Well edited.

Cons:

  • Cliffhanger.

Verdict

4 out of 5 Stars

Wonderful start to a new series – I recommend it!

Published February 23rd, 2019

180 Pages

Please note, this is a Reverse Harem Series that will eventually feature either sexual scenes or themes more suited to an adult audience. 18+

If you enjoyed this review, please be sure to check out a few of my other articles:

Divider

Your Turn

What are you reading today? Found any great books your just dying to share? Leave a comment, drop me a line – I would love to talk!

 

Divider

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply