Dragon’s Don’t Eat Meat by Kim McDougall – A Book Review

Posted November 21, 2020 by Booksandblurbs in Reviews, Urban Fantasy / 0 Comments

Dragon's Don't Eat Meat by Kim McDougall - A Book Review #BookReview #UrbanFantasy #4Stars #KU #KindleUnlimited

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Dragons Don’t Eat Meat

(Valkyrie Bestiary – Book 1)

by Kim McDougall
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Post-Apocalyptic, Urban Fantasy
Available on Kindle and Kindle Unlimited

Down & Dirty

Fifty years ago, the Flood Wars ravaged the Earth, spilling magic and mayhem into the world. This is what is left over… Free on Kindle Unlimited.

What is it about?

(Blurb from GoodReads)

Someone is killing dragons. And the killings point to a civil war brewing among the fae.

When Kyra finds an abandoned baby dragon, she doesn’t want to bring him home. But until she can hunt down his thunder and stop the dragon killers, she’s on babysitting duty.

As a pest controller with a soft heart, Kyra already has an apartment full of rescues, including a basilisk who thinks he’s a turkey, a banshee nanny, and even a pygmy kraken. She might take care of them, but they also fill her need for family. And when that family is threatened, she’ll risk everything to save them. She’ll even join forces with the handsome and irritating captain of the city’s vigilante Guardians, who never fails to be around at her most undignified moments.

Along with a quirky cast of misfits and unruly critters, Kyra leaves the safety of Montreal Ward and travel through the dangerous Inbetween—the land beyond the protected city states, where magic is the only rule of law—to reunite the lost dragon with his thunder and stop a new and sinister force from invading their home.

Author’s Note:

Fans of Kate Daniels and Fantastic Beasts will find something to love in this action-packed, Urban Fantasy tale set in a future version of Montreal. Book 1 of the thrilling new Valkyrie Bestiary series is a true menagerie of fascinating characters, adorable critters and dark magics.

My Thoughts on Dragon’s Don’t Eat Meat

This was a fun, of a bit hectic, urban fantasy. Set around 60 years from now, it follows the path of a magical creature exterminator – tasked with controlling the denizens of the more fantastical quality, everything from Pygmy krakens to dragons, and a whole host of Heebie jeebies between. Despite the exterminator tag in her title, Krya is more likely to rehome the critters, even if that home is her own apartment.

It’s fun, fast and thick with world building – though much of the time is spent racing to catch up to the narrative. A potential romance brews, yet it feels somewhat misplaced, with conversations of permanence and why things can’t really bloom, occurring after just one kiss – a kiss that happened a year before this story begins! I found that odd, but eh, to each their own.

Overall, this was an excellent foray, with fantasy elements, a post-apocalyptic feel and plenty of hints dropped as to where the journey will continue.

Perspective:

First Person, Single POV

Ending Type:

Episodic

Rating:

Adult

Romantic Dynamic:

M/F

Character Age Range:

Adult

My Final Verdict on Dragon’s Don’t Eat Meat

Despite the occasional rushed feeling of this narrative, this was entertaining story, one well worth the extra effort it takes to catch up to the characters. It’s quick, action filled and rather engrossing. Plus, it’s free on Kindle Unlimited.

Dragon’s Don’t Eat Meat

Published August 15th, 2020
244 Pages
Divider

If you enjoyed this review of Dragon’s Don’t Eat Meat, please consider checking out a few of my other articles.

Divider

Your Turn

What are you reading today? Have you read this book yet? What other books by Kim McDougall have you enjoyed? Leave a comment, I would love to talk!

Divider

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply